Starstruck

If I can’t be outside enjoying this beautiful day, well I’m gonna at least look at through the window in my office. There is nothing better than peering out your window to the outside sunny world. Nothing better except, well, actually being outside in that sunny world.

Monday’s are always hard for me. There even harder when I’ve lost an hour of sleep to some concept called Daylight Savings which personally I think is a misleading title. I just lost an hour, I didn’t save anything. But thank you Time because now I will have longer spring/summer days which I can’t complain about living in this beach town.

But like I said, Monday’s are hard so I left a few minutes early for work to get some Stahhhhbucks. That’s how my Dad says it. He thinks it’s funny. He’s also 6’2″ and has a white fluffy maltipoo that he walks daily. I think that’s funny. So I’m at Stahhhbucks and they have these new “meal deals.” A cup of (tall) coffee and a breakfast sandwich for $3.95. They get you with that 95 cents because your brain is like “Whoa only three dollars” but then you’re wallet is like “Nooo dude, four dollars.” But even at 5 cents under four dollars I really did think it was a great deal and happily ordered one. For the same price (seriously) you could get a meal at McDonald’s but the sandwiches at Starbucks are not only pretty looking, but taste better and are relatively healthier. I did the caloric math ( I just wanted to say caloric). The coffee comparison is debatable.

The reason I’m detailing my pre-work breakfast sojourn is because Starbucks (SBUX) gets a lot of heat for being inflexible in the current economy. I’ve blogged about these meal deals before. I did and do they think they are a good idea and I don’t necessarily think of them as weakening the brand image as a luxury coffee retailer. I mean they had me at “Coffee and Sandwich.” I don’t think any less of you Starbucks, I swear. In fact, I love you more for understanding me and my wallets needs. I wonder if investors will feel the same way…

Predictions on PredictWallStreet for Starbucks seem split. 57% of predictors predicted up for Starbucks. Now checking sentiment to see how investors fell towards SBUX I noticed that in the 3 month sentiment graph there is only one really visible period of bearishness where the sentiment line dips down into the red. Then changing the view to 1 month sentiment I can see things a little closer. Sentiment has been pretty rocky the past few days but has remained relativley neutral, with no large spikes into either bear or bull territory. Right now sentiment is sorta flat lining. My guess is investors are out to lunch ordering their meal deals right this second and haven’t yet predicted. But seriously, I realize something like meal deals isn’t going to have an astronomical effect on the stock but this coupled with their instant coffee line is sure to help SBUX. It’s opening their market to a new range of people looking for not JUST coffee in the morning, but actual food for breakfast. Lots of potential for growth. Some of us like to eat edible things in the morning and not drink our breakfasts, ya know?

I’m looking at the Star Performers for Starbucks. It’s interesting because the four-star rated predictors have predicted down for SBUX and even the three-star predictors are split. This situation makes me sort of of hesitant in my up prediction, but I remain a “glass is half full” kinda gal today. So we’ll see. My next journey: Via Instant Coffee.

Starbright, starlight, Sirius XM Radio something something something, in the night. Over the Weekend CEO Mel K. announced their debt obligations have finally been put to rest. RIP DEBT. From their Press Release: “These transactions resolve all of the uncertainty surrounding the company’s and its subsidiaries’ debt maturing in 2009.” The stock (SIRI) saw a nice gain so far on the news, but SIRI is notorious for dancing on any buzz, rumor, or hype. Anyhoo, just wanted to point out how crazy sentiment has been for the company on PredictWallStreet. Looking at one month sentiment you can see a bunch of green spikes and only one bearish endeavor. Look’s like investors are extremely hopeful for the future of this company. If you like SIRI, I’d get in now while they are still pretty cheap. I stand with my guard up still. It’s hard to discern herd mentality from true value this quickly. Make a prediction on SIRI to show how you truly feel about this stocks direction.

Stocks & Bonds Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Blogz
Add to Technorati Favorites
My Zimbio
blog search directory
Delicious
Digg
Facebook
Stumble It!

Leave a comment