I should of known today was going to be bad after I pressed snooze three times this morning. It was an inauspicious sign for the day, followed by spilled coffee in my lap while driving. If those incidents didn’t foreshadow today’s events accurately then the heavy rain all morning did. It truly was a Monday Mourning. Wall Street ate it hard this morning. Tumbled, slide, crashed, committed market suicide, whatever you wish to call it. The Dow broke 7,000 this morning for the first time since 1997-that’s 11 long years. Coupled with AIG posting $61.7 billion in quarterly losses (yikes!), the steep sell-off continued. For those who like to look for bottoms, I think this is a pretty good indicator things could and probably will get worse.

It’s no surprise then that sentiment for the DJIA, SP500 and NASDAQ fell completely bearish this morning. Processing real time predictions from million’s of investors, the real time sentiment meter at PredictWallStreet showed investors extremely bearish for all three indices.

I just tried to find at least one company that I have even heard of that was up today and I found none. So I guess that leaves who was down the least today.

The recession-bearer Apple is down 1.53%. Apple is not infallible, but despite haggard market conditions, they have fared pretty well. Apple reported positive results for Q1 and is continuing to innovate and introduce new products. Despite the slump in PC sales, Apple has been able to offset some of this downfall with their other products like the iPhone, App Store, iTunes and iPod. Although, there is speculation the iPod market has been pretty much saturated. Apple most likely needs to focus on getting customers to upgrade. It’s only a matter of time before our lives, homes and brains are running on Mac’s OS. It seems like their plan, anyway. I feel I am at liberty to talk about AAPL because I’ve been on an Apple diet lately (or I feel like I have been at least, but that’s the case with most diets). I’ve definitely binged one or twice in some previous posts, I know, I know. 69% of predictors on PredictWallStreet predicted up for Apple today. Sentiment is becoming more bullish. Looking at one month sentiment is looks like there have been more bullish up ticks then bearish. Any Apple fan will say “Now’s a good time to buy Apple!” I agree that Apple is relatively cheap, but I almost feel that with the way the market is going it could get cheaper. I would definitely wait this out if I were going to buy (which I’m not) despite the positive signs from the PredictWallStreet poll and sentiment.

Of course I had to check AIG just to see what was going on with their stock after posting such a staggering loss. I was ready to see them bleeding all over the PredictWallStreet widget but what I found was more surprising: a bunch of 0’s. As in their was no change. Granted AIG is pushing pennies at 45 cents, but I at least thought they would be down. I mean I guess they aren’t up either. And I guess it’s hard to fall when you’re already so low. It’s like kicking someone when they are already on the ground. AIG has over 250 predictions today! 77% of predictors predicted up for AIG. Don’t really understand what that’s about. And sentiment has been extremely bearish for the last week, pushing it in the red zone for weeks at a time and today, suddenly, sentiment shoots up and becomes almost extremely bullish? Now this I really don’t get. Can anyone enlighten me? My best guess is because the stock price is so low and because they just got awarded even more money in a bailout, they have nowhere else to go up. That seems pretty logical, but we know the market isnt exactly logical all the time.

Leave a comment